Sandra Staple was born and raised in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where she now lives with her husband, Jason, daughter, Chloe, and son, Logan. Her mother is a local artist, so Sandra has been drawing and painting since she was a young girl, earning distinctions in English and art in high school. She graduated from Saint Mary’s University with a major in computing and information systems, and a minor in creative writing. After graduating, Sandra worked as a business and systems analyst for 17 years before deciding to leave the corporate world to focus on her art. When not drawing or spending time with her family and friends, Sandra can usually be found working in her gardens or elbow deep in her fish tank.

Follow Sandra for updates, contests, and more:            
For a more detailed biography, check out my Patreon Page.

My Home:

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia has a diverse culture and beautiful scenery, and I wouldn't want to make my home anywhere else.

Although much of my artwork is rooted in the fantasy realm, I also have a soft spot for animals and wildlife.

My Family:


Logan is a sweet, stubborn little boy. He shows budding artistic talent.

He has a strong affinity towards music- in particular the guitar and drums. He also loves Star Wars and Pokemon...but then who doesn't? :)

My Family:


Chloe is a smart and funny girl, and will soon be taller than me! In 2008 she was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes (read more about that here) and now is a pro not only at managing it, but at drawing as well.

My Husband:


Jason and I met as kids, and reconnected as adults. We have been married for over 16 years...and friends for over 25! Jason is artistic as well, and is probably my most honest art critic!


I grew up watching my mother paint in both watercolors and oils. I remember painting with her at a very young age, and it was early on that my subject matter turned towards fantasy. I never lost my passion for art, and when I graduated from High School I received an award for Excellence in Art and a distinction in Art and English.


My son was born in 2013, and has grown into a smart and saucy boy. When he was 13 months old a glow in the dark star fell off the wall at his daycare...many hours later doctors at the emergency department performed day surgery and pulled it out of his trachea! So we are very lucky and blessed that he is okay. He's our trooper!


My daughter was born in 2007, and at only 18 months old was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. (Read more about that here.) That, on top of having an egg allergy (thankfully she grew out of the allergy at age 5) made life challenging! Despite the difficulties of living with diabetes, Chloe excels at school, saxophone, dance, and art.


Jason is a computer programmer by trade, with over 13 years experience. He has been a huge support to me, and encouraged me to quit my old job and pursue art. He also helps me with my website when I can't figure out something, and did a very large portion of the image clean up in photoshop for my second book.
Looking for something different? Check out my Patreon Page to support and participate in my artistic journey!


For more reviews, visit my Amazon Author Page